You have 2 more free articles remaining

David Duggleby set up his own firm in 1996 and added the Whitby rooms to his portfolio last year. Lyon & Turnbull, Scotland’s oldest auctioneers, were revived by a team of experts after they left Phillips Edinburgh.

The first two new valuer members are Treasurer and former chairman Robin Barlow, who recently retired as chairman of Bearne’s Exeter, and Michael Baxton, who formed his own independent consultancy after a 20-year career with Sotheby’s, where he became a director in 1982.

SOFAA chairman Chris Ewbank, who announced a fortnight ago that the Society would accredit the fine arts valuation degree course at Southampton Institute, has also introduced a new and more streamlined management structure to SOFAA, headed by an executive committee. The committee is made up of Mr Ewbank, as chairman, Mr Barlow as secretary and treasurer, and Clive Stewart Lockhart, senior partner of Dreweatt Neate Fine Art Division.